Bonsai Plaza nurseries · clubs · learning

Bonsai Akira

Nurseries Portland, OR

Also called: Bonsai Akira (Portland, OR); Bonsai Akira PDX; bonsaiakira.com

Website
https://bonsaiakira.com/
Location
Portland, OR
Last checked
2026-10-07
shop
https://bonsaiakira.com/shop/
contact
https://bonsaiakira.com/contact/
blog
https://bonsaiakira.com/blog/
events
https://bonsaiakira.com/events/
update feb2026
https://bonsaiakira.com/general/mid-winter-flowers-and-other-updates/
winter care
https://bonsaiakira.com/general/winter-care-for-your-bonsai/
welcome
https://bonsaiakira.com/general/welcome-to-bonsai-akira/
camellia yuletide
https://bonsaiakira.com/product/camellia-yuletide/
ponderosa
https://bonsaiakira.com/product/ponderosa-pine/
satsuki
https://bonsaiakira.com/product/dwarf-satsuki-azalea-dayspring/
home
https://bonsaiakira.com/

Bonsai Akira

Category: Nurseries Also called: Bonsai Akira (Portland, OR); Bonsai Akira PDX; bonsaiakira.com Last checked: 2026-10-07

What it is

Bonsai Akira is a small, first-party bonsai nursery and garden studio in Portland, Oregon, with an official online shop at bonsaiakira.com/shop/. Owner Lucy Davenport writes that she launched it in Portland in the summer of 2015, in her garden studio, to promote bonsai with species grown in Pacific Northwest gardens, “from lilacs to conifers, hinoki cypress to viburnums, winterhazel to Japanese maples.” The home page calls it a full service nursery that stocks styled bonsai and offers bonsai care, classes, one-on-one instruction, custom designs, special-event plant rentals and handmade bonsai pottery. The Contact page describes it as a fully licensed nursery “specializing in rare and unusual species of bonsai,” and the site footer prints “Licence # 1039105.” It is not a membership club and not a botanic-garden tuition desk.

Who it’s for

Portland-area and Pacific Northwest buyers who want a styled, temperate bonsai, such as a Japanese maple, camellia, Satsuki azalea, spruce, hornbeam forest or Ponderosa pine, from a small grower who lives with the same maritime climate. It also suits people who want hands-on repotting or private instruction in a garden setting. It is a small studio nursery with one owner, not a big-box catalog. People who want mass-market starter kits or a large warehouse selection should look at other Nurseries listings.

Why it’s listed

This is a first-party nursery storefront. It has an official WooCommerce shop with on-page dollar prices, Add to cart buttons and in-stock / out-of-stock flags on individual styled trees. It prints a nursery licence number and has dated 2025–2026 owner updates. It is not a scraped directory card, not an Amazon storefront and not supplies-only.

  • Nursery identity (Home + Contact + Welcome post, checked 2026-10-07): Bonsai Akira, Portland, Oregon; started summer 2015 in the owner’s garden studio (Welcome post, Feb 3, 2017; home “About the Nursery”). The site footer prints Licence # 1039105 (the site does not name the issuing agency). Phone (503) 720-3113; email [email protected].
  • Official shop sample prices (product pages, checked 2026-10-07; Add to cart shown unless noted):
    • Camellia “Yuletide” $160.00
    • “Ruby Stars” Japanese Maple $260.00
    • Japanese Maple “Oregon Sunset” $260.00 (sale; was $300.00)
    • Camellia “Kanjiro” $360.00; Linden, Tilia cordata “Lico” $360.00
    • Dwarf Satsuki Azalea “Dayspring” $400.00 (in a pot by Oregon potter Vicki Chamberlain; page says “shipping not available”)
    • Ponderosa Pine $500.00 (sale; was $600.00); Hornbeam Forest, Carpinus laxiflora $500.00 (sale; was $600.00)
    • Hinoki Cypress and White Birch Forest (7 trees) $600.00; Weeping Spruce, Picea abies “Pendula” $650.00
    • Out of stock at check: Acer palmatum “Ryu Sei” $650.00; Shimpaku Juniper $750.00; Korean Hornbeam $1,200.00
    • Non-tree lines: bonsai tool set in felt wrap $300.00 (sale; was $360.00); one-hour private instruction gift certificate $60.00; pruning / styling / wiring / repotting service $60.00.
  • Recent activity (blog, checked today): “Winter care for your bonsai” (Nov 13, 2025) and “Mid-Winter Flowers… and other updates…” (Feb 23, 2026), which marks the start of the nursery’s “second decade in business,” reports more than 500 students taught, and says “Visitors are welcome.”
  • Shipping / delivery: the 2017 Welcome post says delivery is available within a two-hour drive of Portland and shipping costs extra. Some current product pages say “shipping not available.” Current shipping rates are not stated on site.

Stock and prices above are what the official pages showed on the check date. They change. Check the live product page before treating any figure as fixed.

Official URL

Official nursery site: https://bonsaiakira.com/

Location

Portland, Oregon (SE Portland). The Events page lists past open-studio and class events at 1630 SE Ellis St, Portland (garden studio; latest dated event June 22, 2024). Regular public hours are not stated on site. Contact the nursery by phone or email before visiting.

This is a nursery / first-party shop identity. It is not a membership club meeting hall and not a botanic-garden tuition desk.

Notes

  • Category is Nurseries. Bonsai Akira is a first-party Portland studio nursery with a priced tree cart. Its private-instruction gift certificate and past classes are nursery services and do not move this card to Learning.
  • Shop clutter: the WooCommerce catalog (88 items at check) also holds many one-off garden-care and pruning invoices for named clients. This card cites only tree, tool and generic service products.
  • Stale events tab: the Events page showed “no upcoming events,” and the latest past events are from 2024. Current activity comes from the Nov 2025 and Feb 2026 blog posts and from 2026-dated shop items.
  • Several specimens were out of stock at check; in-stock examples are listed above. Regular hours, shipping rates and the agency that issued the licence number are not stated on site.
  • Geographic spread: Portland OR is the plaza’s first Oregon nursery and the first Pacific Northwest nursery. It is away from Tue Folsom LA, Mon Oak Hills CA, Fri Pescadero CA, Thu Brooklyn NY, Wed Mt. Pleasant SC, Tue Sep 29 Bellingham MA and Mon Sep 28 Candler NC nursery geos. The only other Oregon card is the Learning listing gresham-japanese-garden-bonsai-workshops, which has a different brand, domain and category.
  • Listing image: first-party Bonsai Akira logo saved beside this file as bonsai-akira-logo.png (from bonsaiakira.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/01/logo-1-25-18.png).
  • Not affiliated with Bonsai Plaza.
  • No Bonsai Plaza contact, purchase, booking, or publication action was taken.

FAQ

Q: Where is Bonsai Akira, and can I visit?
A: The site places the nursery in Portland, Oregon. Its Events page lists past open-studio events at 1630 SE Ellis St, Portland, and the Feb 23, 2026 update says “Visitors are welcome.” Regular hours are not posted, so call (503) 720-3113 or email [email protected] before going.

Q: What tree prices were printed on the official shop today?
A: Samples checked 2026-10-07 included Camellia “Yuletide” at $160, “Ruby Stars” Japanese maple at $260, Dwarf Satsuki Azalea “Dayspring” at $400, Ponderosa Pine at $500 (on sale from $600) and Weeping Spruce at $650. A Shimpaku Juniper ($750) and a Korean Hornbeam ($1,200) were out of stock. Prices and stock change, so check the live product page.

Q: Does Bonsai Akira ship trees?
A: The 2017 Welcome post says delivery is available within a two-hour drive of Portland and shipping costs extra. Some current product pages, such as the Satsuki azalea, say shipping is not available. Current rates are not posted, so ask the nursery or check at checkout.

Q: What else does the nursery offer besides trees?
A: The home page lists bonsai care, classes, one-on-one instruction, custom designs, special-event plants and handmade bonsai pottery. The shop sells a $60 one-hour private instruction gift certificate and a $60 pruning / styling / wiring / repotting service.